The Mess In The West! Will The Wings Make The Playoffs?


gogreen0326

18 games left…

18 games. That is all that is left in the NHL “season”, if you want to call it that.

I am only reporting because it is my duty. Honestly, after all that happened, both myself and The Guru are a little jaded with the NHL.

So as of this very moment, here is how the Wester Conference stacks up:

1. Chicago 51 pts

2. Anaheim 46 pts

3. Minnesota 36 pts.

4. Los Angeles 36 pts

5. St. Louis 34 pts

6. Vancouver 34 pts

7. Detroit 33 pts

8. San Jose 30 pts

Phoenix 30 pts

Columbus 30 pts

Dallas 29 pts

Edmonton 28 pts

Nashville 28 pts.

Calgary 26 pts

Colorado 24 pts

 

It’s still anyone’s game, really. Chicago and Anaheim are pretty well locks, the way they are playing, but every other team is hit or miss. The Wings schedule from here out:

Fri, Mar 22 @ Anaheim 10:00 PM
Sun, Mar 24 @ Anaheim 8:00 PM
Mon, Mar 25 @ Phoenix 10:00 PM
Thu, Mar 28 @ San Jose 10:30 PM
Sun, Mar 31 vs Chicago 12:30 PM
Mon, Apr 1 vs Colorado 7:30 PM
Thu, Apr 4 @ Phoenix 10:00 PM
Fri, Apr 5 @ Colorado 9:00 PM
Sun, Apr 7 vs St. Louis 12:30 PM
Thu, Apr 11 vs San Jose 7:30 PM
Fri, Apr 12 @ Chicago 8:30 PM
Sun, Apr 14 @ Nashville 7:30 PM
Wed, Apr 17 @ Calgary 9:30 PM
Sat, Apr 20 @ Vancouver 10:00 PM
Mon, Apr 22 vs Phoenix 7:30 PM
Wed, Apr 24 vs Los Angeles 7:30 PM
Thu, Apr 25 vs Nashville 7:30 PM
Sat, Apr 27 @ Dallas 8:00 PM

Not too promising, considering how tight the standings are. 12 points separate the lower 13 teams. We will see how it plays out, but if the Wings make the playoffs, expect them to be the 7th or 8th seed, and bow out in the first round. Swami has spoken.